Go to navigation (press enter key)Menu

The Drama Department Annual Marilyn Swartz Seven '69 Playwriting Competition

The Marilyn Swartz Seven ’69 Playwriting Award was established by friends and classmates of the late Ms. Seven to support an annual playwriting competition open to all Vassar juniors and seniors.  

About the Competition

The author of the winning play receives a $1,000 award and a certificate. The Drama Department will host a limited seating reception and award presentation. Entry forms and play submissions are accepted late fall, and the winner is announced in early spring each academic year.

Documents for the Competition

For more information contact drama@vassar.edu.

2017-2018 Competition

  • Deadline for script submissions: Monday, February 12, 2018
  • Announcement of winner: Friday, March 30, 2018
  • Reception: Sunday, April 29, 2018

Previous Recipients

Alexa Jordan '17
Winner 2017

Juliany Taveras ’16
Winner 2016
“Anatomy of Light”

Rebecca Jannou ’16
Winner 2015

Kevin Ritter ’15 and Nick Pearl ’14
“Lawn Play” by Kevin Ritter
Also Starring Ellen Burstyn” by Nick Pearl

Erin Gallagher ’13
“American Soldier”
(honorable mention presented to Tatiana Collet-Apraxine ’13 for "Planet of Ashes and Snow")

Isabella Batts ’12
Winner, 2011
“The Inheritance of Nightdreams”

Julianna Gonzalez ’11
Winner, 2010
“El Mundo del Bolero”

Kartik Naram ’10
Winner, 2009
“Straw Men & The Remainders One Act Plays”

Carly Flint ’10
Winner, 2008
“Draining Still & Waterlines”

Marissa Skudlarek ’08
Winner, 2007
“The Rose of Youth”

Ensemble: Rigel Byrum-Ridge ’07, Li Cornfeld ’07, Erica Fox ’07, Tyler Penfield ’07 David Rosenbaum ’07
Winners, 2006
“Live Feed”

Jason Platt ’06
Winner, 2005
“Entering in Verdant Skin”

Christopher Johnson ’05
Winner, 2004
“Ol’ Head Country Wisdom & the Ibeiji’s Tale”

Megan Melanson Cooke ’03
Winner, 2003
“Over Here”

Sharyn Rothstein ’03
Winner, 2002
“The Three O’Clock”

Sri Gordon ’01
Winner, 2001

Rob Grace ’00
Winner, 2000
“Paper Hearts and Suffern”

Trevor Oswalt ’99
Winner, 1999
“Young Boys Under Hot, Hot Lights”